Burley Cricket Club


Sway v Burley Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 28 May 2011 at 1400
Burley Cricket Club Lost by 2 runs

Match report With overcast skies and rain on the horizon Burley won the toss and elected to field, with a view of making the best of the conditions and new ball. The decision was immediately vindicated when Paul Yates (10-3-32-2) removed Adam Clark for 0 and James Edworthy (8-3-13-2) troubled the batsmen at the other end. Burley made it difficult for Sway to score freely and they found themselves 34-4 (including the dangerous Attapattu).
Former Fawley skipper Kevan Glass stubbornly resisted and supported Alan Hall and helped push the total over the 120 mark and some late hitting from Thistleton and John Grasham meant that Burley would have to chase down 160 for victory.
Both Kieron Hudson and Rob Munro looked comfortable against the left arm over pace of John Grasham until Rob was embarrassingly adjudged LBW to Grasham. Kieron and Rob's partnership also included the loss of three overs due to the inevitable rain and so the target was reduced to 148 for victory.
Kieron (31) and James Edworthy (21) set up the innings and a hard hit 25 from Phil Teague set up victory and left the game poised with just 5 required from the last over. With Dan Divney and Jim Burry at the crease everyone looked on expectantly, but just a leg bye and a single could be found and victory slipped away and another defeat added to the Burley league record for the season.

Sway Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 9 wickets
160 (0.0 overs)
A Clark b  P Yates 0
A Hall ct  P Yates W Tucker 38
D Jones b  J Edworthy 1
N Attapattu lbw  J Edworthy 9
R Clark b  P Yates 1
K Glass st  A Moorman W Tucker 48
J Grasham b  Y Rashid 21
S How b  Y Rashid 4
D Steadman Not Out  11
S Thistleton b  Y Rashid 13
T Patch  

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Paul Yates10.0332216.003.20
James Edworthy8.031326.501.62
Jim Burry10.003600.003.60
Wayne Tucker10.0041220.504.10
Yamin Rashid4.012638.676.50

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 8 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Kieron Hudson ct  R Clark N Attapattu 31
Rob Munro lbw  J Grasham 3
James Edworthy ct  S Thistleton S Thistleton 21
Paul Yates lbw  N Attapattu 12 1
Alec Moorman b  N Attapattu 9 1
Wayne Tucker ct  N Attapattu S Thistleton 13
Phill Teague ct  A Clark D Steadman 25
Ben Stratten ct  J Grasham S Thistleton 14
Dan Divney Not Out  7
Jim Burry Not Out  0
Yamin Rashid  

Sway Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
D Steadman10.0136136.003.60
J Grasham10.0422122.002.20
N Attapattu10.012739.002.70
S Thistleton9.0050316.675.56