Burley Cricket Club


Burley Cricket Club Sunday XI v Fair Oak CC on Sun 11 Aug 2013 at 14:30
Burley Cricket Club Won by 73 runs

Match report Burley Sunday XI were again without their injured captain meaning Alec Moorman was again the stand-in skipper. Burley won the toss and elected to bat in a 35 over match against a youthful Fair Oak side. Kieron Hudson and Ben Gorham opened the innings and Hudson led the way in attacking the new ball. The pair brought up the 50 partnership in the 11th over with Hudson scoring freely. The pair went beyond the 100 mark in the 19th over with Hudson first to reach 50. Gorham's half-century followed shortly after and Burley had 142 on the board before losing their first wicket in the 22nd over when Hudson was stumped on the rare ball he missed, for 71 at better than a run a ball including 10 boundaries. With 142 on the board for the opening stand Burley had a great platform going into the final 13 overs. Tom Hodgson, Greg Thew, and MD Shiek all came and went in quick succession. At the other end Australian all-rounder Ben Gorham had accelerated his strike-rate. His fifty had taken him 61 balls and in the 29th over he smashed Jake Salmon for a massive 6 to bring up his maiden 100. His second fifty taking just 26 balls, in an innings that had 16 boundaries and a six, Gorham retired to bring Dan Maher to the crease. Maher rode his luck in being dropped twice in one over to finish unbeaten on 29 and Burley had posted a very impressive 241-5.

Burley started with the ball as well as they did with the bat and Indian bowler MD Shiek took two quick wickets in an impressive opening spell before Ben Gorham had a direct hit to run out Alex Chessell and Fair Oak were in real trouble at 13-3 off 5 overs. Fair Oak skipper and opening bat tried his best to rebuild the innings, compiling a well-made run a ball 52. Marcus Reynolds accounted for the wicket of Jake Salmon before a wicket-maiden for Burley legend Brian Price saw the end of Dave Chessell. The veteran then bowled Nick Bass with the first ball of his next over and Pricer was on a hat-trick. With Ian Bass arriving at the crease on 82-6 he survived the hat-trick ball. With both the overs and wickets running out, Ian Bass refused to go down without a fight by smashing an unbeaten 56 off just 28 balls - brutally taking one MD Shiek over for 20. His effort was always going to be in vain though and when Tom Hodgson, on debut, had last-man Alex Woolvine caught at mid-on Burley had bowled Fair Oak out for 168 inside 32 overs to complete another convincing victory. The pick of the Burley bowlers being MD Shiek (6-1-32-3) and Brian Price (6-2-13-2)

Burley Cricket Club Sunday XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
1nb 9w 11b  
for 5 wickets

(35.0 overs)
Kieron Hudson st  Harry Salmon 71 68 10 1 104.41
Ben Gorham Not Out  101 87 16 1 116.09 2
Tom Hodgson b  Jake Salmon 2 8 25.00 1
Greg Thew ct + bowled Jake Salmon 1 3 33.33
MD Shiek ct  Jake Salmon 5 7 71.43 2
Dan Maher Not Out  29 20 3 1 145.00
Alec Moorman ct  Alex Woolvine 10 13 2 76.92
Tom Allam Not Out  1 5 20.0
Charlie Lambourne  
Marcus Reynolds  
Brian Price  

Fair Oak CC Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Paul Woolvine7.003100.004.43
Harry Woolvine5.002900.005.80
Alex Woolvine7.0024124.003.43
Dave Chessell3.003500.0011.67
Harry Salmon4.0043143.0010.75
Jake Salmon5.0039313.007.80
Alex Bass3.002100.007.00
Nick Bass1.00700.007.00

Fair Oak CC Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
2nb 7w 1b  
for 10 wickets
168 (0.0 overs)
Alex Bass ct Tom Hodgson MD Shiek 6 9 1 66.67
Nick Bass b  Brian Price 52 56 10 92.86
Andrew Slogrove ct + bowled MD Shiek 0 2 0
Alex Chessell Run out  0 7 0
Jake Salmon ct MD Shiek Marcus Reynolds 7 24 29.17
Dave Chessell b  Brian Price 13 26 3 50.0
Harry Woolvine lbw  MD Shiek 15 29 2 51.72
Ian Bass Not Out  56 28 6 2 200
Paul Woolvine ct Ben Gorham Tom Allam 7 7 1 100
Harry Salmon Run out  2 2 100
Alex Woolvine ct Ben Gorham Tom Hodgson 0 1 0

Burley Cricket Club Sunday XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
MD Shiek6.0132310.675.33
Charlie Lambourne6.012500.004.17
Marcus Reynolds6.0036136.006.00
Brian Price6.021326.502.17
Dan Maher4.012300.005.75
Tom Allam3.0035135.0011.67
Tom Hodgson0.50313.003.60