Burley Cricket Club


Lymington v Burley Cricket Club 1st XI on Mon 30 Jun 2014 at 18.15
Burley Cricket Club Lost by 43 runs

Match report Burley's reign as New Forest Stone Cup champions ended at the hands of a strong Lymington side. Burley struggled to contain the strike rate of a strong top order line up as B Derbyshire put the bowling attack to the sword, striking the ball sweetly off the middle of the bat regularly. After James Edworthy had removed Lymington skipper, Mark Gannaway for 16, C Moors also began to find his rhythm, striking the ball regularly to the boundary. With both batsmen cruising passed 50 the total amassed a huge 173-1 in their allotted 18 overs (Derbyshire 84*, Moors 70*).
Burley's response set off at a respectable 7 or 8 an over, keeping them in the hunt but regular wickets hampered the cause. A 3rd wicket stand of 57 between Kieron Hudson (47) and Alec Moorman (34) kept the game open but as the run rate began to creep up both lost their wickets and momentum was lost. Burley ended on 130-5, some 43 runs short and with defeat came the realisation that they will not be contesting the final to hold onto their trophy.

Lymington Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
1b 2lb 
for 1 wickets
173 (18.0 overs)
B Derbyshire Not Out  84 56 46 10 2 182.61
M Gannaway b  J Edworthy 16 9 10 3 160.0
C Moors Not Out  70 45 54 8 2 129.63
N Trestrail  
H Chandler  
P Tapper  
M Ambrose  
J Bowring  
L Moors  
M Jackson  
A Drodge  

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
James Edworthy4.0028128.007.00
Jim Burry4.004300.0010.75
Jonathan Beck4.003700.009.25
Wayne Tucker4.004500.0011.25
Ian Edworthy2.001700.008.50

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
5w 6b 2lb 
for 5 wickets

(18.0 overs)
Kieron Hudson ct  B Derbyshire H Ambrose 47 57 40 2 117.50
Jonathan Beck b  H Chandler 11 15 12 91.67
James Edworthy b  H Chandler 3 6 3 100
Alec Moorman b  P Tapper 34 27 26 2 130.77
Wayne Tucker ct  M Gannaway H Ambrose 2 3 4 50.0
Steven Moorman Not Out  8 19 12 66.67
Ian Edworthy Not Out  12 13 10 1 120.0
Andy Dilworth  
Ray Gunn  
Guy Clifford  
Jim Burry  

Lymington Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
A Drodge4.002400.006.00
H Chandler4.0032216.008.00
P Tapper4.0028128.007.00
J Bowring2.001400.007.00
H Ambrose4.0024212.006.00