Burley Cricket Club


Burley Cricket Club Sunday XI v Sway on Sun 03 Aug 2014 at 14:00
Burley Cricket Club Won by 31 runs

Match report Burley Sunday XI's victory over Sway was a lot more emphatic than the victory margin suggests. Winning the toss, Daniel Tucker made no hesitation in sending his strong Burley side out to bat first. Out went Ian and James Edworthy and after playing out a maiden for the first over, Ian unleashed a brutal assault on the Sway bowlers for the next 18 overs before 'unfortunately' falling back on his own stumps the very next ball after reaching his quick-fire ton. As luck would have it, funnily enough, this was Ian's first dismissal of the season on Sundays meaning he now qualifies for an average - a healthy 257! Maybe a not-so-unfortunate dismissal after all from the crafty batsman! Meanwhile, at the other end James Edworthy (51*) had been playing second fiddle to his dad, retiring at the mid-innings drinks break, with 168 runs already on the board. Alec Moorman (55 retired) and Jim Burry (40) piled further misery on the bowlers, and a quick 19 from debutant Nick Iles ensured that Burley Sunday XI passed 300 for the first time this season.
After tea, the daunting task proved far too much for Sway's openers. On the very first ball of the reply N Gallagher came walking down the wicket trying to smash Jonny Blundell out of the ground, resulting only in skying a catch to mid-on. The batsmen had crossed and fellow opener L Symons produced a carbon-copy of the first ball, leaving Sway 0-2 off just two balls and for the second week running Jonny Blundell had opened the innings with a double wicket maiden. Skipper, Daniel Tucker opened up the innings by giving 10 fielders a bowl, and Tucker replaced wicket-keeper Alec Moorman behind the stumps. D Marshall (103) took advantage of some friendly bowling from Alec Moorman and Harvey Farrell-Jarvis, the latter getting revenge when Marshall holed out to the safe hands of Jonny Blundell. J Marshall batted nicely for 51, Ian Edworthy accounting for his wicket in the last over. Jonny Blundell 2-25 and Dan Maher 2-37 were the pick of the Burley bowlers.

Burley Cricket Club Sunday XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
5nb 3w 15b 2lb 
for 5 wickets

(40.0 overs)
Ian Edworthy hit wicket  J Marshall 102 18 1 1
James Edworthy Retired Not Out  51 7 4
Alec Moorman Retired Not Out  55 7 1
Jim Burry b  C Todd 40 4 1
Nick Iles b  J Marshall 19 3
Daniel Tucker b  J Marshall 2
Dan Maher ct  M Allport 4 2
Stuart Pateman Not Out  1
Matt Fletcher Not Out  4 1
Jonny Blundell   1
Harvey Farrell-Jarvis  

Sway Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
D Marshall6.012500.004.17
V Falso3.002300.007.67
M Allport8.0045145.005.63
C Todd7.0039139.005.57
D Hurrel2.003400.0017.00
N Gallagher4.014300.0010.75
J Marshall6.0033311.005.50
L Symons4.004300.0010.75

Sway Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 9 wickets
272 (40.0 overs)
N Gallagher ct J Edworthy J Blundell 0
L Symons ct D Maher J Blundell 0
D Marshall ct J Blundell H Farrell-Jarvis 103
B West ct I Edworthy M Fletcher 0
V Falso ct J Edworthy D Maher 34
C Todd ct J Edworthy D Maher 2
P Bennet ct D Maher H Farrell-Jarvis 36
J Marshall b  I Edworthy 51
D Hurrel ct J Edworthy J Burry 4
M Allport Not Out  4
D Seawood Not Out  0

Burley Cricket Club Sunday XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Jonny Blundell5.0125212.505.00
Matt Fletcher8.0065165.008.13
Stuart Pateman4.002300.005.75
Dan Maher8.0037218.504.62
Nick Iles4.002500.006.25
James Edworthy4.011000.002.50
Alec Moorman1.002000.0020.00
Harvey Farrell-Jarvis3.0044222.0014.67
Jim Burry2.00616.003.00
Ian Edworthy1.00212.002.00