Burley Cricket Club


Mottisfont v Burley Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 19 Aug 2017 at 13.30
Burley Cricket Club Won by 4 wickets

Match report Burley recorded back to back victories with a 4 wicket win over close rivals Mottisfont. A good bowling display and a measured batting performance ensured victory with 2 balls to spare.
In the field, catches were held and bowling regularly tested the batsmen. Leading wicket taker, Charlie Clamp, Wayne Tucker and Ben Crowley each picked up 2 wickets as Mottisfont were held to 170. An innings built around 85 from opener Ian Bradwell, supported only by skipper Richie Blake (34). It was Ben Crowley who made the initial breakthrough, having Graham Blake caught by Tucker. The same pair accounted for the dangerous Richie Blake leaving Bradwell to find limited support from others.
After tea, the Burley innings started promisingly with Alan Wright hitting consecutive fours off of Ian Jerram before confusion and hesitancy between Wright and opening partner Kieron Hudson ended with Wright run out. Alec Moorman was quickly caught at long off by Richie Blake and Hudson was joined by Danny Maher. The pair put on 63 for the third wicket getting Burley half way to the target. Blake was again the downfall of the batsmen, this time catching Hudson at long off for 48. After Ollie Maund and Ben Crowley lost their wickets for single figure scores it was Wayne Tucker (24) who upped the run rate with Maher to keep Burley on target to record their 5th victory of the season. With Tucker, also caught by Blake at long off, gone Steve Moorman (14n.o.) saw Burley through with Maher who ended 54 not out. Needing just 4 from the final over Moorman drove the ball into the legside to seal the victory with 2 balls to spare.

Mottisfont Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
4nb 7w 3b  
for 6 wickets
170 (45.0 overs)
I Bradwell ct  O Maund W Tucker 85 145 149 8 3 57.05
G Blake ct  W Tucker B Crowley 4 37 28 14.29
R Blake ct  W Tucker B Crowley 34 51 35 1 97.14
G Collins ct  B Crowley W Tucker 14 30 32 2 43.75
S Godwin b  C Clamp 10 16 9 1 111.11
D Lawrence ct  B Crowley C Clamp 0 2 2 0
D Evans Not Out  8 16 12 66.67
C Wheeler Not Out  1 7 3 33.33
I Jerram  
P Southwell  
M Bisping  

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Charlie Clamp9.0139219.504.33
Wayne Tucker10.0334217.003.40
Ben Crowley10.0044222.004.40
Kieron Hudson4.001700.004.25
Mark Wheeler10.032600.002.60
Steven Moorman2.00700.003.50

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
1nb 7w 3b 1lb 
for 6 wickets

(44.4 overs)
Kieron Hudson ct  R Blake D Evans 48 91 82 4 58.54
Alan Wright run out  (D Evans) 9 19 13 2 69.23
Alec Moorman ct  R Blake I Jerram 2 11 12 16.67
Dan Maher Not Out  54 135 96 1 1 56.25
Ollie Maund lbw  D Evans 5 21 17 29.41 1
Ben Crowley b  D Evans 4 9 8 50.0 2
Wayne Tucker ct  R Blake S Godwin 24 29 23 1 104.35 2
Steven Moorman Not Out  14 15 11 1 127.27
Charlie Clamp  
Mark Wheeler  
Harvey Farrell-Jarvis  

Mottisfont Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
R Blake1.00200.002.00
I Jerram10.0125125.002.50
S Godwin9.0032132.003.56
P Southwell5.002600.005.20
D Evans10.0045315.004.50
I Bradwell9.413800.003.93