Burley Cricket Club


New Milton v Burley Cricket Club 1st XI on Mon 19 Jun 2017 at 18.15
Burley Cricket Club Won by 51 runs

Match report Burley now face a Stone Cup semi-final next Monday after beating New Milton by a comfortable 51 runs. Boasting a strong bowling attack, New Milton asked Burley to bat first but despite losing Alex Martin (6) early to Andrew Deakin Burley kept the scoreboard ticking through Kieron Hudson and Craig Doick. The pair kept the run rate at over 7 an over before Hudson was caught and bowled by Kristian Locke for 37. Doick maintained the pace of the innings and was supported by Wayne Tucker (17*) after also losing skipper Alec Moorman. Doick passed his half century hitting Billy Tomkins for 4 and finished the Burley innings 57* with the team amassing a creditable 144-3.
Jim Burry made an immediate impact with the ball having Kristian Locke caught behind the wicket with just the second ball of the New Milton reply. However, Billy Tomkins and Lee Miller recovered, putting on 67 for the second wicket, although they didn't bring this up until the tenth over. Despite a number of dropped catches and missed opportunities Burley continued to make inroads into the New Milton line up and kept boundaries and wides to a minimum, something that New Milton were unable to do. The spin pair of Wayne Tucker (3-19) and Mark Wheeler (4-10) made the telling contributions with the ball and at the end of their allotted 18 overs New Milton's reply had come to a close at just 93-9.

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
3nb 20w 2b 2lb 
for 3 wickets

(18.0 overs)
Kieron Hudson ct & Bowled K Locke 37 32 35 5 105.71
Alex Martin ct M Gargaro A Deakin 6 9 8 1 75.00 1
Craig Doick Not Out  57 62 39 8 1 146.15 1
Alec Moorman ct D Miller K Locke 0 6 4 0 1
Wayne Tucker Not Out  17 33 26 65.38
Michael Moorman  
Ray Gunn   2 2
Steven Moorman  
Jim Burry  
Charlie Clamp  
Mark Wheeler  

New Milton Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
A Deakin4.0023123.005.75
B Tomkins3.003400.0011.33
K Locke4.001728.504.25
L Miller3.002900.009.67
M Gargaro2.001600.008.00
D Miller2.002100.0010.50

New Milton Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
5w 1b 1lb 
for 9 wickets
93 (18.0 overs)
K Locke ct R Gunn J Burry 0 2 2 0
B Tomkins st R Gunn W Tucker 24 37 27 1 1 88.89
L Miller ct A Martin W Tucker 39 40 34 3 1 114.71
D Miller ct C Doick W Tucker 2 7 8 25.00
B Smith ct A Moorman M Wheeler 2 8 3 66.67
R Thomas b M Wheeler 0 4 2 0
G Spencer Not Out  10 28 11 90.91
M Gargaro ct R Gunn M Wheeler 2 5 5 40.0
H Dyer-Smith st R Gunn M Wheeler 4 7 7 57.14
A Deakin b C Clamp 2 8 6 33.33
N Dyer-Smith Not Out  1 6 4 25.00

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Jim Burry4.0018118.004.50
Charlie Clamp3.0021121.007.00
Wayne Tucker4.001936.334.75
Craig Doick4.002300.005.75
Mark Wheeler3.001042.503.33