Burley Cricket Club


Burley Cricket Club 1st XI v Sway II on Sat 19 May 2018 at 14:00
Burley Cricket Club Won by 2 wickets

Match report Burley recorded back to back 'final' over victories, this time chasing down a competitive 207 set by newly promoted Sway. Electing to bat first the Sway innings was slow and steady. At the drinks break they had reached just 61 but importantly still had 8 wickets in hand and this allowed the required acceleration in the second half of the innings. Their total was largely due to 97 from Adam Clarke, who was supported by Will Millard (35) in a third wicket stand of 80. Some hard hitting towards the close from Dan Stevenson (24*) provided the impetus to lift the score over 200 and although competitive, not reaching the final batting point at 225 on a fast Burley outfield would suggest a little under par. James Brown was the pick of the Burley bowlers, picking up 3-23 in his 9 over spell with Wayne Tucker also economical, conceding just 28 from his 9 but without reward.
In a mirror image innings after tea, Burley lost an early wicket, had a substantial stand and lost a key batsman in the nineties. Alan Wright lost his stumps to his first ball but then a second wicket stand of 137 between Kieron Hudson and Pete Woodward kept Burley very much on track to record their second victory of the league campaign. Woodward lost his wicket with the score on 145 for a creditable 42 and Hudson fell shortly afterwards, just 5 short of consecutive league centuries. Despite a flurry of late wickets chasing a run rate of 7 per over, it again came down to needing just 5 from the final 6 balls. Mark Wetherall hit the first for 4 and then was bowled off of the second. However, Craig Doick hit the 4th ball for two and with victory complete Burley collected 21 points with Sway taking 10 from the defeat.
Next Saturday sees Burley travel to Southampton whilst Sway have the long journey to Amesbury.

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
6nb 10w 11b 5lb 
for 8 wickets

(44.4 overs)
Kieron Hudson b S Leaton 95 130 110 14 86.36
Alan Wright b S How 0 6 1 0 1
Pete Woodward ct W Millard S Nailor 42 113 108 2 38.89
James Brown ct W Bourne S Leaton 5 21 17 29.41
Steven Moorman b F Pearson 14 26 15 2 93.33
Ben Crowley b S Leaton 0 2 2 0
Matt Fletcher b F Pearson 7 7 7 100
Mark Wetherall b S Leaton 10 11 7 1 142.86
Wayne Tucker Not Out  2 6 1 200
Craig Doick Not Out  2 2 2 100
Charlie Clamp  

Sway II Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
G Lewis4.001900.004.75
S How9.0324124.002.67
D Marshall9.032500.002.78
F Pearson8.0045222.505.63
S Nailor9.0042142.004.67
W Millard1.001300.0013.00
S Leaton4.402646.505.57

Sway II Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
2nb 6w 7b 3lb 
for 5 wickets
207 (45.0 overs)
S Nailor lbw C Doick 0 19 18 0
A Clarke b C Clamp 97 157 122 14 79.51
S How lbw J Brown 12 39 43 2 27.91
W Millard ct C Clamp J Brown 35 67 57 4 61.40
G Lewis ct A Wright J Brown 16 14 10 3 160.0
D Stevenson Not Out  24 29 16 2 1 150.0
S leaton Not Out  5 7 4 125.00
S Hannibal  
W Bourne  
F Pearson  
D Marshall  

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Charlie Clamp8.0045145.005.63
Craig Doick6.02515.000.83
James Brown9.022337.672.56
Wayne Tucker9.022800.003.11
Mark Wetherall9.005500.006.11
Matt Fletcher2.001900.009.50
Pete Woodward2.002200.0011.00