Burley Cricket Club


Burley Cricket Club 1st XI v New Milton on Mon 01 Jul 2019 at 18.15
Burley Cricket Club Won by 17 runs

Match report Burley booked their place in the 2019 Stone Cup final with a 17 run victory over New Milton. Opting to bat first openers Kieron Hudson and Alex Martin added 58 for the first wicket inside seven overs before Martin fell, LBW to Ed Wooster for 41. Wooster also accounted for Hudson (14), stumped with the score on 83. Callum Maher alongside, skipper, Alec Moorman maintained a healthy run rate, Maher reaching his half century from just 21 balls. Moorman's 37 not out ensured that the Burley total passed the 150 mark and at the mid way point in the match a target of 166 looked imposing for New Milton.
Despite losing the early wicket of Varney New Milton kept their scoring rate up to keep themselves in with a slim chance but timely wickets for Burley helped to keep that run rate in check. 25 from Kristian Locke and 20 from Ellis Day complimented the outstanding half century from Ryan Davis. Lee Miller (32*) joined Davis but the pair were unable to add the required runs, always 20 or so runs behind where they needed to be. Davis' 58 not out would be in vain at the end with New Milton finishing 17 runs short of victory.
Burley will now face Sway in the final at Brockenhurst on the 19th July after they came out victorious by 10 runs over Pylewell Park in the other semi final.

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
3w 1b 7lb 
for 5 wickets

(18.0 overs)
Kieron Hudson st G Spencer b. E Wooster 14 37 19 73.68
Alex Martin lbw E Wooster 41 26 30 5 1 136.67
Callum Maher ct K Locke b. E Day 50 25 22 8 1 227.27
Alec Moorman Not Out  37 37 22 3 1 168.18
James Roberts b K Locke 7 14 9 1 77.78
Tilly Callaghan b E Day 2 5 3 66.67
Steven Moorman Not Out  3 4 2 150.0 1
Ray Gunn  
Dan Mepham  
Jim Burry  
Mark Wheeler  

New Milton Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
H Dyer-Smith4.002400.006.00
J Pritchett2.001500.007.50
K Locke4.0044144.0011.00
E Wooster4.0036218.009.00
E Day4.0038219.009.50

New Milton Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
3w 3b 2lb 
for 3 wickets
148 (18.0 overs)
R Davis Not Out  58 69 53 4 109.43
C Varney b J Burry 5 5 5 1 100
K Locke b D Mepham 25 17 15 4 166.67
E Day ct S Moorman b. M Wheeler 20 18 14 3 142.86
L Miller Not Out  32 29 21 3 1 152.38
H Dyer-Smith  
N Dyer-Smith  
J Pritchett  
R Thomas  
G Spencer  
E Wooster  

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Dan Mepham4.0032132.008.00
Jim Burry4.0021121.005.25
Mark Wheeler4.0035135.008.75
Tilly Callaghan3.002400.008.00
James Roberts3.003100.0010.33