Burley Cricket Club


Dorset Indians v Burley Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 21 May 2022 at 13:00
Burley Cricket Club Won by 49 runs

Match report Burley found the winning formula at the third time of asking this season, seeing off Dorset Indians in a low scoring encounter at Branksome Rec. The lush, slightly long outfield made scoring difficult for both teams, with batsmen often not getting value for their shots.
Burley were asked to bat first and again faltered. A second wicket stand of 66 between Kieron Hudson (42) and Alec Moorman (30) the highlight of another difficult batting innings. At drinks, Burley had set themselves 150 - 175 as a good total but the regular loss of wickets meant that they were eventually bowled out for 125. It should have been well within the grasp of the Indians, needing less than 3 an over but very economical bowling spells from Jim Burry and Dan Mepham added pressure to the innings. Mepham's three wickets also made inroads into the Indians batting line up and it became evident that they were going to be reliant on, opener, Murtaza to steady the ship and see them well towards the winning post. However, having made a start Burley were not going to give this game away. Having dragged themselves to the point of victory last week only to let it slip at the final hurdle, there was a determination to not let go this week. Energy in the field remained throughout and the change bowlers of Obaid Iqbal and Rhys Gadsby accounted for the final 7 wickets. Iqbal's pace was a little too hot to handle as he picked up 4 wickets for just 14 runs whilst Gadsby, at the other end, utilised swing to take 3-26. With the Indians dismissed for just 76, Burley turn their sights to next week's opponents, high flying Whiteparish with fresh confidence and, at last, a victory and 20 points under their belts.

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
2nb 17w 2b 1lb 
for 10 wickets

(38.2 overs)
Kieron Hudson ct G Devpura b S revindran 42 2
Tom Osborne b A Sanwal 3 1
Alec Moorman b U Rastogi 30 3
Rishi Katakam ct K Na b B Saxena 0
Manjeet Grewal lbw B Saxena 3 1
Steven Moorman b S revindran 0 1
Jim Burry ct M Amin b A Sanwal 16 2
Dan Mepham ct V Krishnakumar b U Rastogi 6 1 1
Tarun Vemuri b A Sanwal 0
Obaid Iqbal ct B Saxena b B Saxena 3
Rhys Gadsby Not Out  0 1

Dorset Indians Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Anil Sanwal7.2032310.674.36
Gajendra Devpura5.001200.002.40
Murtuza Amin5.003600.007.20
Utkarsh Rastogi9.0121210.502.33
Bhanu Saxena9.041033.331.11
sunil revindran3.001125.503.67

Dorset Indians Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
6w 3b  
for 10 wickets
76 (35.3 overs)
Rahul Choudhary b D Mepham 9 2
Murtuza Amin ct M Grewal b O Iqbal 34 1 2
Anil Sanwal ct R Gadsby b D Mepham 0
Vineeth Krishnakumar ct T Osborne b D Mepham 1
Kartik Na ct S Moorman b O Iqbal 2
Utkarsh Rastogi b O Iqbal 12 1
Prakhar Dongre b O Iqbal 0
sunil revindran b R Gadsby 5
Gajendra Devpura ct D Mepham b R Gadsby 4
P Anto  
Bhanu Saxena  

Burley Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Jim Burry9.031600.001.78
Dan Mepham9.031735.671.89
Obaid Iqbal9.031443.501.56
Rhys Gadsby8.312638.673.06